SKIP??

Let's just talk skip... a great place to join the prestigious CB radio Hall of Fame.
trx680
Donor
Donor
Handle: none
Radio: CB radio

SKIP??

Post by trx680 »

This is my 2nd day with my CB. A Bearcat 980SSB. I ordered it from **Non Sponsor**, had him do the high performance tuneup. Using a Maco Alpha 5/8 on my roof. I'm still learning it.
I talked with a guy about 30 miles away last night. He said I was coming in very clear and was impressed. Not much going on earlier today. Its almost 7pm here in Virginia and I turn on the radio and the airwaves are like Black Friday at Walmart. I'm scanning AM 1-40 and picking up more activity than on Side Band. A lot is bleeding over on side band from AM, high power amps I'm assuming??
I'm hearing a guy claiming he's in Louisiana...remember, I'm in Virginia. Then theres a guy from Texas. A lot of "Happy Thanksgiving" announcements.
"Cricket" is on AM24 from South Louisiana.

I hear activity on the side bands but there's a lot of interference, like a high pitch whine/humming. I adjusted the clarifier and lose the whine but its still not clear like on AM.

So the sky clear is in Virginia at 7pm. I'm not familiar at all with this "skipping", but is that what I'm experiencing?

[mod=MDY]edited **Non Sponsor**[/mod]
MDYoungblood
Site Admin
Site Admin
Handle: MDYoungblood
Antenna: HyGain AV-6160
Radio: Icom IC-746 (non pro)

Re: SKIP??

Post by MDYoungblood »

Skip even though it is illegal on the CB band is fun to do,, happy contacting!

3's

Greg
"321, West Manchester Township, PA"

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department
trx680
Donor
Donor

Post by trx680 »

I had a guy by the name of "deerslayer" came through. I would of thought he was across the street he was so clear. He claimed he was in Lake Okeechobee Florida!!
I dont know what setup he had but it was spot-on!!
Deerslayer...if you're on here tell us about your setup...lol
MDYoungblood
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by MDYoungblood »